A humorous and educational look at speech pathology.

Today there will be no objective. Sadly, I’m out, and the end of the school year has led to lots of paperwork and little time to amuse myself and others to refresh. I’m hoping to think of more starting with Friday, but until then, I have an interesting question to pose to the community.

Next year, I plan to revamp rewards in my speech sessions. I’ve seen paper chains, sticker charts, and other cute ways of tracking points, but what I’m looking for are interesting ways to earn points and interesting ways to spend points, almost adding a token economy to the rewards tracking system and gamification already inherent in a sticker chart. Basically, I want getting rewards in speech class to feel like XBox Live achievements.

I’m going to post a sample of each an activity to earn points and a way to spend points. If you can think of ideas and post them in the comments, that’d be great. I’ll post what I end up coming up with in a future blog post.

Sample Achievement: 90% accurate with a middle-of-word sound in one session – 5 points.
Sample Reward: Spend 50 points: Choose end-of-session game for the day (I tend to reward my language groups with a 5-minute “fun” activity at the end of each session).

Other ideas in the comments would be more than welcome.

-John

Comments on: "Gamifying Speech Pathology – Achievements Unlocked?" (3)

  1. You may also consider generating avatars with your kiddos. You could have an array of “upgrades” (e.g. different clothing styles and colors, hats, pets, accessories, etc) that they could “buy” with their points to change their basic avatars. This could lead in turn to some excellent language therapy opportunities as well as facilitate group attention during tasks (read: hopefully friendly competition).

  2. mtmarySLP said:

    I read these…and I think..”Wow, very cool idea.” Which is quickly followed by “how is he going to keep track of all that!” I’d love to see how this works for you.

    What would you do for that kiddo who has really tried, but just wasn’t able to do it?

    • In terms of keeping track, I’m probably going to do one of two things: Either find an iPad app that can do it, or keep a second data sheet for the rewards points. My CF had a great system that I’m probably going to steal where she had a two-pocket folder for each student. One pocket held worksheets, homework, and the like, and the other held the data sheets. It required her to keep a magazine rack for data rather than a binder like I do, but she made it very functional.

      In terms of the students that try, I’ve got a couple systems in mind. The first is hierarchical achievements; while I listed the “90% accurate” achievement above, I could also do an achievement for improvement or for effort (back when I used a sticker chart, “effort” always got one sticker each day). There’s also a benefit that about half of my student’s aren’t seen in groups (I use a modification of the 5-minute approach to articulation therapy), so the students won’t be competing with each other; this would lead to a reduction in frustration.

Leave a Reply

