A humorous and educational look at speech pathology.

Today’s Obfuscated Objective is a speech objective.

What you write: “Student will attend to verbalization of his or her name given multiple verbal prompts.”

What you wanted to write: “Student will look at me. Yes, Student, at me. No, Student, not at the clock. No, Student not at Jimmy. No, Student, not at the finger paints. Student. I’m talking to you…”

-John

Like this post? Have a comment? Have an objective you want me to obfuscate? Leave a comment!

Comments on: "Obfuscated Objective for 10/4/2011" (1)

  1. I had an assessment like that last week. VERY FIRST THING I did in the assessment, we had JUST sat down:

    Preamble and greetings and such
    Me: SO, now I’m going to give you a word and you tell me what goes with that word, OK?
    Him (7;3): OK!
    Me: What goes with a sock?
    Him: Is this your pen?
    Me: yup. What goes with a sock?
    Him: can I write with it?
    Me: not just yet, we’re doing this first. What goes with a sock?
    Him: I’m just gonna take the lid off, OK?
    Me: no, I don’t want you to do that until I give you paper to write on. So, hey, what goes with a sock?
    Him: is that your iPad under that book?
    Me: yup. We’ll play with it later, after we do this… So, what goes with a sock?
    Him: Can I play the iPad now?
    Me: nope… what goes with a sock?…
    Him: I’m just gonna take the lid off this pen. When can we play with the iPad?
    Me: Right after you tell me what goes with a sock.
    Him: oh, right. A shoe.

Leave a Reply

