A humorous and educational look at speech pathology.

EDIT: It looks like this page is a destination for a lot of visitors who are coming here from one of the posts in the series, so I’m going to be listing a table of contents of sorts with links to the posts that are currently up:

1. Apples to Apples

2. Rory’s Story Cubes

3. Backseat Drawing

4. Dixit

5. Get Bit!

6. The Storybook Game

7. Hedbanz

8. Uno

9. The Chain Game

10. Origins 2012 Round-Up

11. Telestrations

12. In a Pickle

13. Scattergories: The Card Game

14. Snake Oil

15. Once Upon A Time

16. Word on the Street

17. Storyteller Cards

Yesterday, Out of the Box Games asked on their Twitter feed and Facebook page about friends and followers who had invented games. I mentioned a couple I was working on, and offhandedly mentioned that I was also modifying existing games for speech therapy. This sparked interest from the company’s social media manager, and following some comments back and forth, I realized that I had the makings of a blog post – many SLPs use board games in their practices, and I consider my go-to board game bag list to be just as essential as my iPad app list when doing treatment. After a couple unsuccessful drafts, I realized that what I really had was a series of blog posts, each addressing a different game. As such, each week, you’ll see a post on this space discussing a particular board game’s utility in speech and language treatment addressing the following topics (and, for those of you in the board game community, this may lead to a BoardGameGeek GeekList as well):

Variants/Expansions: If the game has a variant version (like a “Junior” or “Kids” version) or any expansions, these are listed here.
General Overview: A discussion of the game’s theme, mechanics, and play.
Skill Support: A list of speech and language skills (or related skills) the game can be used to support.
Strengths: Areas in which the game is effective in therapy with no changes to the rules or mechanics.
Challenges: Challenges that exist to using the game, with no changes to rules or mechanics, in therapy.
Accommodations/Modifications: Ways to modify the game rules and mechanics to make the game more conducive to speech therapy.
Alternate Uses: Ways to use the game’s components as speech therapy materials outside the game’s rules and mechanics entirely.

I’ve already got a list of ten games or so that I plan on reviewing, but if you have a particular game you’d like me to talk about, let me know in the comments – I’ll look into picking it up or, if I already have it, move it up the list.

First game coming soon…

-John

Comments on: "Board Games and Speech Therapy" (6)

  1. […] later, I decided I had enough material for a series of blog posts, the landing page for which is here. There’s currently three in the series, and I plan to add more at the rate of about once a […]

  2. […] I actually have an obfuscated objective! For those of you who have been following the board game posts but haven’t looked at the rest of the blog, I initially set out to create a blog to present […]

  3. […] this year), I’m addressing a game that’s already come up in a number of other posts in this series: The Storybook Game, published by […]

  4. […] of the games discussed in this series have been games with a clear language application. Today, I’m departing a bit from that and […]

  5. […] this is your first time here, you may want to go here to the “home” page. It explains a bit about what I’m hoping to accomplish with […]

Leave a Reply

